Two Pilgrim’s Prayer

I want to share these two Pilgrim’s prayer I found online.  I had been trying to find the first prayer below for the longest time.  This is the one very similar to what my late dad share’s during the pilgrimage tour he organizes.

For those who have joined group pilgrimages, you may chuckle at some point because it may sound familiar 🙂



A Pilgrim’s Prayer by John M. Haffert

If some things do not happen as they are scheduled, Lord, may I remember that I am a pilgrim not a tourist!

If I should get tired and inclined to become short-tempered, Lord, may I remember that I am a pilgrim not a tourist!

If my meal in a foreign country may not be to my particular liking, Lord, may I remember that I am a pilgrim not a tourist!

If any delays should occur and I should become anxious, Lord, may I remember that I am a pilgrim not a tourist!

If some other pilgrim is making noise so that I cannot hear the guide, Lord, may I remember that I am a pilgrim and not a tourist when I ask that person to be a bit more quiet If someone takes a better seat or more choice place, Lord, may I remember that I am a pilgrim not a tourist!

If I find myself last in line waiting, Lord, may I remember that I am a pilgrim not a tourist!

If I should get a chance to help another person, who always seems to be annoying me, Lord, may I remember that I am a pilgrim not a tourist!

But Lord, especially let me remember that what I find objectionable in another is really what you oftentimes find objectionable in me and let me remember this and forgive the other, as you are continually forgiving me!

Pilgrim’s Prayer by Stephen Doyle

Lord Jesus Christ, you were a pilgrim in this Holy Land.

Now you lead and guide us on our pilgrimage to the heavenly Jerusalem.

As we follow in your steps, we ask the grace to keep our eyes on you. Open our hearts that we may find you not only in ancient stones, but in your people and in each other. Let your words be a fire burning within us. Write your Gospel upon our hearts.

Give us a spirit of prayer lest we return full of facts but not of grace and love.

Lord, teach us to pray in the very land where you taught your disciples so that we may say:

Our Father, who art in heaven, hallowed be thy name.
Thy kingdom come, they will be done on earth as it is in heaven.
Give us this day our daily bread
And forgive us our trespasses
As we forgive those who trespass against us,
And lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from evil. Amen.

Source:  See the Holy Land

Leave a comment